Finalists of EU MIES AWARD 2019

As members of the Advisory Committee EU MIES AWARD 2019 we would like to announce that The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe announce today (13/02/2019) the list of 5 finalists of the Mies van der Rohe Competition of the European Union in the field of contemporary architecture 2019.

The 5 Finalists works are:

PC CARITAS in Melle by architecten de vylder vinck taillieu

Plasencia Auditorium and Congress Centre by selgascano

Skanderbeg Square in Tirana by 51N4E, Anri Sala, Plant en Houtgoed and iRI

Terracehouse Berlin by Brandlhuber+ Emde, Burlon and Muck Petzet Architekten

Transformation of 530 dwellings - Grand Parc Bordeaux by Lacaton & Vassal architects, Frédéric Druot Architecture and Christophe Hutin Architecture

In April, the Jury will visit the 5 works in order to select the Prize Winner and the Emerging Architect Winner that will be announced at the end of April. The Award Ceremony will take place on the 7th of May 2019 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona. Save the date for the lectures, debates, exhibition opening and celebration with the Jury members, Winners, Finalists, Clients and other guests and representatives.

Initiated in 1987 after an agreement between the European Parliament and the Barcelona City Council, the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award has been coorganised by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe and the** European Commission** since 2001.

The Prize is awarded biennially to works completed within the previous two years. The principal objectives are to achieve a thorough understanding of the transformation of Europe’s built environment; to recognize and commend excellence and innovation in the field of architecture; and to draw attention to the important contribution of European professionals in the development of new ideas with the undeniable support of clients and the involvement of those who will become the users of these places. The Emerging Architect Winner is distinguished by a combination of qualities such as excellence and authenticity of design; a genuine and innovative character of its work; and high-standard, wellexecuted and sustainable construction. The jury selects the winner among those applicants who have not yet attained recognition by having a body of critically recognised work at major and established institutions or publishers.

The Fundació Mies van der Rohe was created in 1983 with the aim of reconstructing the German Pavilion that Ludwig Mies van der Rohe built for the 1929 International Exhibition in Barcelona. The foundation fosters debate on and awareness of themes related to contemporary architecture and urban planning, as well as encouraging studies on the work of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and on the Modern Movement. Creative Europe is the European Commission’s framework programme for support to the cultural and audiovisual sectors. The programme aims at promoting Europe’s cultural diversity and rich heritage while enabling the cultural and creative sectors to reach their economic potential, contributing to sustainable growth, jobs and social cohesion.

The Prize draws the map of the best European Contemporary Architecture with the Prize Winner, the Emerging Architect Winner and the Young Talent Architecture Award Winners. The latter is the most recent addition to the Prize, which recognizes and rewards the best graduation projects of architecture students throughout Europe and beyond.

Contacts: Fundació Mies van der Rohe – Press Office Miriam Giordano / Labóh e-mail: Tel.: +34 933 192 664 / +34 606 602 230

To find out more: Social Media: Social media channels: @EUMiesAward (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram) @FundacioMies (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn) @CreativeEuropeEU (Facebook) @europe_creative (Twitter)

EUMiesAward2019 #EUMiesAward


Patchwork: The Architecture of Jadwiga Grabowska-Hawrylak

Current exhibitions

February 28 – May 18, 2019, Opening: Thursday, February 28, 6-8 pm

Wroclaw’s „Manhattan” in New York

The exhibition of the outstanding Polish modernist architect Jadwiga Grabowska-Hawrylak will be presented outside Poland for the first time. For three months at the Center for Architecture in New York’s famous and respected gallery, you will be able to see the author’s designs and drawings. There will be no shortage of archival and contemporary photographs, films and models of the most interesting objects - both completed and those that have forever remained only a concept.